Movie Review: Max Payne

Max_Payne_poster

Released: 10/17/2008

I didn’t realize Max Payne was based on a video game – I thought it was based on a comic book.  If I had realized it was a video game I probably would have skipped it.  I have nothing against video games, but turning them into movies does not seem like a good idea (e.g. Lara Croft was a terrible movie).  I never played the game, and maybe that would have improved my enjoyment of the movie, but as it was still a rather pedestrian movie.

It starts with my least favorite plot device – the opening scene one week ahead of the rest of the movie.  Part of my objection is that it removes suspense from the show, because you know the hero ends up in that situation – any tight situation up until that point will be met with a shrug of the shoulders.

Max Payne (Mark Wahlberg) is in the cold case unit of the police department trying to track down who murdered his wife and child.  The police department appears to be okay with the arrangement where he sits in the cold case room looking for his wife’s killer, while apparently doing no other work.  When a woman he just met is also murdered, Max becomes the prime suspect.  When his ex-partner discovers a connection between the woman and Max’s wife, he is murdered too.  I could go deeper into the plot, but why bother?  It’s a typical action-thriller with a predictable villain.

Nothing original, nothing suspenseful, even Mila Kunis was rather blah in Max Payne.  It might make a difference if you played the video game, but I suspect that you would rather play the game than watch a mediocre movie.

WWYT Rating: 5.5

IMDB Rating: 5.4

 

Leave a Reply

