Rewatch: Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope

New Hope

Released: 5/25/1977

I was two years old when Star Wars was released.  As a result, I didn’t get to see it in the theaters when it was first released (or at least I don’t remember if I did).  I wish I could wipe my memory and go see it for the first time in the theater – what an epic experience that must have been.  I don’t remember how old I was when I did see Star Wars for the first time – I do remember being pissed that Vader got away.

From the opening, the giant scrolling text, the grand orchestra, the giant ship rumbling across the screen.  Even if it seems commonplace now, that’s because Star Wars changed cinema forever (in some ways not for the better).  There’s a reason why I rarely see movies made before 1977.

The movie isn’t without its problems, of course.  Luke is really whiney – like annoyingly so.  After watching all of the Star Wars movies – he is supposed to be that whiney.  And why is Luke more upset about Ben dying, a man he didn’t know more than few days, than his uncle and aunt, who raised him since he was a baby?

I’ve had the Star Wars theme stuck in my head all week (I can’t imagine why).  The score that is so closely tied Star Wars.  When you hear the “Imperial March,” you know exactly what is coming (Vader!)  Watching it again, when we first meet Luke we hear his music.  Jaws, Rocky, Close Encounters of the Third Kind all pop in mind as other examples of music that are tied to the movie.  [Disney movies don’t count, the music is the movie].

I don’t think anyone needs to be told how good this movie is.  You’ve probably already seen it.  You’ll probably watch it again.  There are (probably) those out there that don’t like it, and that’s okay, they are just missing out.

WWYT Rating: 9.5

IMDB Rating: 8.7

Leave a Reply

