Movie Review: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

Salmon-fishing-in-the-yemen-poster

Released: 4/20/12

I recently had my DNA tested and I am 75% British.  This is a little surprising to me, since I can’t stand how they pronounce certain words.  My least favorite is “Shedule.”  It’s SKED-ule, not Shedule.  There is a “c” in there.  Do British kids go to “Shool?”  After Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, I might have a new least-favorite pronunciation – “Shake,” for Sheikh, we Americans pronounce it “Sheek.”  Where are they getting the “a?”  I might have let it go once or twice, but after pronouncing “shake” a couple dozen more times, it drove me nuts.  Why am I harping on pronunciations?  Because, I don’t have many good things to say about the plot.

As the title suggests, Harriet and the “Shake” want to bring salmon to Yemen – a hot, dry country in the Middle East.  Dr. Jones (Alfred, not Indiana, unfortunately) is an expert in the field and tells them it is highly improbable, but he is forced to try to make it happen because of the wonders of politics.  Harriet and Alfred work closely together over the next few weeks.  They have several humorous interactions and as you might expect in a romantic comedy, they start to fall for one another.  There is only one small problem – Alfred is MARRIED.  Call me crazy but I think if you are having problems in your marriage, you try to deal with them, not just kick your wife to the curb the second someone younger and hotter shows the slightest bit of interest in you.  Harriet is also in a relationship, but it is only about six to seven weeks old and half the time she thinks he is dead.  I understand her attraction to Alfred; he was comforting in her time of need and they do seem to have a good time together (despite not having anything in common other than fish).

This has been a rather harsh review.  There were definitely light-hearted, funny moments and I can see why someone might enjoy the movie.  I just can’t root for a guy who leaves his wife for someone else – especially when I don’t see the relationship with the younger woman working out.

WWYT Rating: 5.75

IMDB Rating: 6.8

Leave a Reply

