Oscar Predictions

3d-white-people-oscar-25117866
Oscar So White

I am not a fan of award shows.  The Oscars aren’t an exception.  In fact, I sometimes go so far as to avoid seeing nominated films.  I find that the winners (if not the nominees) are largely determined by politics and very little merit.  Witness the #Oscarsowhite tag for two-years running, despite some obvious non-white candidates  like Chiwetel Ejiofor as Best Supporting in The Martian or Will Smith as Best Actor in Concussion.  Those are the first two that sprang to mind, I’m sure if I looked into it I could find more candidates that are deserving of a nomination.  Or, why did The Lego Movie not even get nominated for Best Animated Film last year, it was far superior to any of the other nominees.  Even NPH, as host, called out the Academy on completely missing the boat.  It’s hard enough to predict what The Academy thinks is the best, much less the politics behind it – will they give the Oscar to someone who deserved it years ago, but doesn’t deserve it now?

So here we go, my Oscar predictions, guaranteed to be wrong or your money back:

Best Sound Editing – A fierce category this year, I wouldn’t be surprised if any of the nominated movies won, but I’ll go with a movie I’ve seen.  Pick: The Martian When I watched it I was very impressed by the sound quality of the film – to the point where I noticed it being good.

Best Short Film – Live Action – Ha!  Like I have ever heard of these.  Torn between what looks like a German short and Stutterer.  I’ll go German.  Pick: Everything will be Okay (Alles Wird Gut)

Best Short Film – Animated – Less like to hear of any of these.  I’m picking based on the names only, because I don’t have a clue.  Pick: We Can’t Live Without Cosmos

Best Sound Mixing – I don’t know what the difference is between Mixing and Editing.  I’ll go with my second choice from the Editing.  Pick: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Makeup & Hairstyling – Only three nominees this year, and I’m not typing out the 12-word title so my Pick: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Visual Effect – The only award I actually care about, also is a very deep category.  It almost always goes to a space film and there are at least two to choose from.  Pick: The Martian

Best Original Song – Doesn’t look like there is a Disney film this year, and I refuse to pick anything related to Fifty Shades of Grey.  I’ll go with the Bond movie, they usually have a good opening song.  Pick: “Writing’s on the Wall” Spectre

Best Original Score – I don’t know pick one out of a hat.  I feel like this is a category where politics will come in to play.  Pick: Sicario

Best Costume Design – This is where I think the heavy favorite to win the night will take over.  Pick: The Revenant

Best Production Design – I’ll go with a minor upset here.  Pick: The Martian

Best Film Editing – Favorite time again.  Pick: The Revenant

Best Cinematography – My pick is not even nominated.  I guess I don’t know what the hell this category even means.  Pick: The Revenant

Best Documentary Short Subject – Like I have a clue.  I’ll go with typing the fewest words.  Pick: Body Team 12

Best Documentary Feature – I’d say I have more of an idea than the short subject, but I really don’t.  Pick: Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom

Best Foreign Language Film – I’m terrible with languages.  Trés malo.  Pick: Mustang

Best Animated FeatureThe Lego Movie!  Still better (or bitter).  I’ll pick the only one I have heard of.  Pick: Inside Out

Best Adapted Screenplay – Hey, I might get one right here.  Probably not, though.  Pick: The Martian

Best Original Screenplay – Here is something I don’t understand, The Revenant is heavily favored to win a lot of awards, but somehow is not nominated for either Adapted or Original Screenplay.  If it is going to win Best Picture, shouldn’t it win one of these, or at least get nominated?  Pick: Straight Outta Compton [you’re still so white Oscar]

Best Supporting Actress – Haven’t seen any of these, probably won’t either.  Pick: Rachel McAdams, Spotlight

Best Supporting Actor – I think I shall use a random number generator, because I don’t know.  Pick: Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight

Best Actress – Ditto the supporting actress.  Pick: Brie Larson, Room

Best Actor – Back to the favorite.  Though Cranston could win based on being Heisenburg (even though it is the wrong medium.)  Pick: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant

Best Director – Yep, favorite time again.  Pick: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, The Revenant

Best Picture – It is a heavy favorite for a reason.  Pick: The Revenant

I count 24 categories.  If I get even half of them correct, I would be surprised.  I’ll tune in, roll my eyes at the red carpet, get upset that The Lego Movie still didn’t win, and then go to bed.

Leave a Reply

