Restaurant Review: South Creek Pizza Co.

SouthCreek_Logo_Square_For_Social_Media-e1442606026121

 

Dined: 3/13/16

I have moved to Reno and for my first official dining experience I was a cliché and ate pizza.  [Technically I went out to eat when I was here for the interview, but unless you want a review of my interview answers, you won’t get a review of the meal.]  This wasn’t your normal Domino’s delivery, South Creek Pizza Co. is more of a gourmet pizza pub.

The free appetizer on the table was “CeCi” Chickpeas with EVOO, Parmesan, Onion, Basil, Cracked Pepper, and Chili Flakes.  It was different and unique and a good way to start off the evening.

I ordered the Paulie Gee pizza – Fresh Mozzarella, Hot Sopressata, Italian Sausage, Basil, Garlic, Sliced Red Onion, Sea Salt.  Finished with “Mike’s Hot Honey.”  My first bite I only caught a hint of the honey, which made it all the more intriguing.  As I ate more, the honey tended to overwhelm the rest of the ingredients (e.g. I didn’t even taste the fresh mozzarella).  The honey was good, but it oddly had me craving more spice (despite the sopressata, sausage, red chili flakes and being “hot honey” it needed more spice – though I like my food spicy).  [I had to look up sopressata from the Google search it looked like salami, but the taste (when not overwhelmed by the honey), was closer in my mind to a prosciutto (though not as salty).  It was served on flat bread – it wasn’t as dough-y as a regular crust, which is a good thing in my mind, though I think the flat bread could have been even better (maybe a bit more butter if there was any at all).

I got an amber ale to wash it all down.  It’s a bit hoppier than I prefer and with the sweeter pizza, it didn’t actually go that well together (bitter and sweet).

South Creek Pizza Co. is a bit pricier than delivery pizza, but it also has more unique pizza options that are much more flavorful.  The pizza I ate was a bit out of balance, but I could clearly tell the difference between the ingredients on this pizza and those from a more “traditional” pizza place.  I would definitely eat there again, just not once a week.

WWYT Rating: 7.4

 

Leave a Reply

