Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

sherlock-holmes-a-game-of-shadows-2011.7492

Released: 12/16/2011

I must have a lot of faith in Netflix suggestions.  I watched the first Sherlock Holmes, and I didn’t like it.  Yet for some reason I still put the second movie, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows on my list – solely because Netflix said I would like it.

Throughout most of Game of Shadows, I remembered why I didn’t like the first one.  When I reviewed St. Vincent, I talked about the importance of casting.  Sherlock Holmes is the exact opposite.  Robert Downey Jr. is not Sherlock Holmes.  Billionaire playboy, Tony Stark – Downey nails that part.  The quintessential master of observation and deduction, not so much.  And Jude Law as Watson is also miscast.  I spent most of the movie thinking that Law would have made a better Sherlock.

Despite the severe casting mistakes, there are some bright notes.  The special effects are amazing.  There is enough humor to keep you entertained.  Mostly, though, the ending was fantastic.  A good ending can make a movie and a bad ending (or one that doesn’t fit the theme and tempo of the rest of the film) can sink a movie.  The ending to Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is almost enough for me to give this a passing grade.  Almost.

WWYT Rating: 6.49

IMDB Rating: 7.5

Leave a Reply

