Restaurant Review: Bawarchi

bawarchi

Dined: 1/3/17

A new Indian restaurant opened near my office a couple weeks ago. As we turned the page on a new year, it was an excellent time to try a new place. We had hoped that Bawarchi might be a buffet-style lunch place, alas, it wasn’t meant to be. Nevertheless, come with an appetite, because the portion sizes are mammoth.

The menu, with over 100 items, was overwhelming. I asked the waitress for recommendations – she said they were “known for our Biryanis.” I’m not sure how they could be “known for” something after being open less than two weeks, but I did get the Hyderabad Chicken Dum Biryani (it wasn’t the specific one she recommended though). Our waitress was kind enough to warn us that everything was a la carte – naan and rice were separate (Biryanis, however, come with rice). She did not warn us that the dishes come in a giant urn, which would be a challenge to finish in a single sitting (especially for lunch). All the Biryanis were served with a side of curry sauce and a yogurt sauce (the latter which had a much more Indian name, but I don’t remember what it was other than “yogurt based”).

The flavor of my dish was fantastic, with a perfect spice level for me (be forewarned that I like my food spicier than most). I did have to dig to the bottom to find the chicken (as did my colleagues). My first complaint is that I only had two small pieces of chicken – a leg and a thigh – the rest was flavorful rice. My next complaint is the price tag – nearly double the prices of our normal Indian buffet.

If I were rating Bawarchi solely on the taste quality of their food, it would get an eight or higher. Overall, however, I have to lower my rating based on: The price tag, the lack of ice in the water, the food taking awhile, not enough protein (in mine), and awkward portion sizes. If we had to do it over, we probably would have split two separate dishes between the three of us – but then we would need to agree on what we would want to share. In the end, I would not recommend this place for lunch, but instead for a large group splitting several dishes for dinner, or date-night where you share one dish.

WWYT Rating: 7.5

 

Leave a Reply

